Defining Ourselves

I am constantly teaching my children.  Now that they are 4 and 2 I am particularly in the disciplinary trenches of my educational training. I am also in the academic world of pre-school skills.  Though it is extremely fulfilling for me to see my oldest learn how to put letters together and form words, I still find  moments missing being a professional.

For so many years I defined myself as a teacher.    Signing the contract, going to inservices, seeing other professionals work around you gives full awareness to the job description.  But being a mother has less of a ‘how to’ guide.  There’s no college course, there’s no degree, and there is not a village of people to help you through it.  You’ve got to educate yourself on how to be a mother.  This is the only way I can define and qualify myself .  None the less, instantly changing my definition as I did October 3, 2003 came with months of questions, learning and redefining.

 Let’s face it, the first thing people (often) ask when meeting someone is “Where do you work? or What do you do?”.  Our whole society is focused on how we define ourselves based on doing something.  It’s not as easy as I thought it would be to change from one job to another. 

I’m not saying, by any stretch of the imagination, that I’d like to go back to work full or part-time.  But I wouldn’t mind if there was an option for dabbling a bit:)  Sometimes there’s still a bit of my old defined self that wants to come out and play.

Leave a Reply

