Two Truths and Lie

Brett and I recently enjoyed a dinner with a couple we hadn’t spent much time with previously.  To get to know each other better we decided to play Two Truths and Lie.  If you’re not familiar with this game it’s a simple game of figuring out which two facts stated by the individual are the truth and which one is the lie.

The most difficult part is actually figuring out what to share.  It can’t be something like “pizza is my favorite food” because that would lead to very little conversation. In fact I think it might go something like this… “huh, that’s interesting. Do you like plain cheese or other toppings?”  Wow- that is a real conversation starter! 

The ideas have to be something provoking.  Here are the examples from the night:

Person 1- Got three speeding tickets in a week; Has a 4 inch scar from melanoma (skin cancer) on their back; was a life guard at the beach

Person 2- was tracked by a bear for 2 hours; has lived in 4 homes in 5 years; ejected from a plane (they’re a pilot)

Person 3- was in a state teen beauty pageant; knows sign language fluently; was the president of her sorority

Person 4-has only one kidney; was a victim of an attempted kidnapping; (darn- I can’t remember the last one)

All of the last statements are lies.  It ended up being a great night of conversation with these amazing truths.  Can you believe that someone was actually tracked by a bear for 2 hours?!

If you have a moment, share your truths and lie.  I’d love to see if I could figure them out!

 

5 thoughts on “Two Truths and Lie

  1. So I think you know me way too well for me to play this with you… but i’ll try.

    1. I once had three dates with three different men in one day
    2. I’ve lived in eight different states
    3. I’ve shared a meal with Diane Sawyer

  2. I love the two truths and a lie idea… I will definitely use this next time we get together w/ friends. Here are mine:

    1. If I had been born a boy, my parents were going to name me Philip.
    2. I used to play the violin, but I pawned it when I was in college.
    3. I almost dropped out of college after Ruby was born to become a massage therapist, but Ryan talked me out of it.

    Hope I can stump you!! 🙂
    Joanna

    PS: I think Amber’s #2 is wrong. Am I right?

  3. This is fun.. and hard.. ya’ll may know me too well too..here goes:

    1. I am the oldest child in my family
    2. I am a texas hold ’em poker champ
    3. I moved away from home when I was 12

    Its great to have you back to blogging Lori! ..and hope you are feeling all better

  4. Hi Lor. Glad to read that you are feeling better!

    I’ll do some from my high school days:

    1. I was Freshman Homecoming Princess in high school

    2. I played Lacrosse my Junior year

    3. I was the lead in the school play

    Call or email when you get a moment…miss you!!

Leave a Reply

