[Grand]Parental Involvement in Homeschooling

I’ve decided to do a 4 day week for homeschooling curriculum and on the 5th day do something ‘stupendous’ (as the kiddos would say).  Music (they take piano), art, field trip, learning how to: shop, cook, bake, and general life skills lessons etc.  So I got a bit creative and thought about how it could be super fun if other people taught the girls their “specials”.

CO OP IS NOT FOR ME

Yup, I’m going solo for my first year at doing this. I don’t know if could manage getting 4 kids ready, be at CO OP Central and teach to a classroom full of kids without going even more gray [than the 4 kids have already made me].

CALL ON THE GRANDPARENTS

My dad loves finance (linking up to-Teaching Kids About Money)and horticulture. Score- two classes that could last weeks and weeks!  My mom is an artist (linking up to Artists Helping Children).  In her retired days she’s been living it up at the senior center (ok, it’s kinda country clubish but they have classes for the 55+ peeps) taking classes on stained glass and every medium of drawing and painting I have ever known (as a non artist).  Plus, she’s crafty.  Bonus.

CONVINCE THEM

I think my mom is on board.  Haven’t really heard anything but a chuckle from Dad.  But I’m his first born and I think that means being stubborn is not my fault.

MAKE THE SCHEDULE AND SHARE IT WITH THEM– THEN COOK FOR THEM.

So I plan to bribe them with dinner each ‘lesson day’.  Is that so wrong?

One thought on “[Grand]Parental Involvement in Homeschooling

  1. I love the idea. My in-laws are very instrumental in helping with the kids and the kids love learning with them. What a blessing for you! I am sure you will have a great year! Many blessings to your family!

Leave a Reply

