Picking Our Homeschool Name

In our state, you’re required to pick a school name (if you haven’t enrolled your kids under an umbrella school).  Let me tell you- this is pressure.  I know it shouldn’t be because no one is really going to call our school by name, nor are they graduating from our school at this point (we’re taking it one year at a time and they’re 6 and 8 years old).  BUT- it’s still pressure.

I read about some people using

  • location
  • name
  • favorite place
  • scripture/key words from the bible
  • geography related words

Still hard. Getting closer though….

HOW DO YOU FEEL ABOUT THE WORD ACADEMY?

It seems like everyone has the word “Academy” next to their school name.  I certainly don’t feel like an academy and though it sounds kind of catchy I feel like it’s not authentic for us.  I feel like a home– not a school.  So I opted to include “House” in our name.

HUSBAND STILL WANTED SCHOOL IN OUR NAME

So I opted to add Christian School after the word House.  Here’s the finished product:

Red Mill House

Christian School

I know it might be a mouthful at first but it’s personal (we live near the old Red Mill along the creek nearby) and I’m trying very hard to wrap my brain around the fact that this is a private school, a place of learning and not a traditional institution where the prescription is established for every hour and minute of every day.

We’re a house of love, faith, learning, growing, teaching, forgiveness, grace, and joy.  I just didn’t think that went with Academy (but have no problems with those out there that use Academy in their name– it’s just my first year at HS and I’m trying to figure it all out).

WHAT’S YOUR SCHOOL NAME? HOW DID YOU PICK IT?

Leave a Reply

