Whimsy (Wednesday): Snack Time, No Bake Energy Bites

I found a little gem of a recipe a while back and am pleased to say we make it all the time. I can’t seem to remember the exact name but we call them Energy Bites. And they’re so yummy and packed full of protein how can you not feel the energy? The girls and I took a bit of time today to once again enjoy this little snack.

 

We actually had to make up the measurements today because we’re so used to just dumping in the ingredients that no one  could remember the original recipe.  But if you can see these sweet balls of goodness in the picture, you’ll be able to tell that all the essential foods to survive are included: chocolate, oatmeal, coconut, and peanut butter. There is also vanilla extract and honey but I’m sure no one is guessing at those as survival favorites 🙂  For me, the only other food I’d ever need to survive on is cheese.  Sounds kinda gross when thinking of these little babies so I’ll keep the cheese for another treat.

Here’s what you need to make the Energy Bites:

2 c oatmeal (uncooked quick oats)

2 heaping T. peanut butter ( I like natural varieties)

1/4 c coconut

3 T. honey

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 c. chocolate chips.

Mix all ingredients in a bowl.  Form into balls with hands.  Refrigerate for 30 min. and enjoy.

serving size: I usually like 1 or 2 but I allow the kiddos just one.

** tip:  use moistened hands to form balls or the PB and honey will stick to your hands and make it difficult to keep the bite together.

I can’t really say how long the shelf life is on these Energy Bites because they don’t really last that long in our house.  I’d just say, keep them in the fridge for sure.

Blessings,

   lori

2 thoughts on “Whimsy (Wednesday): Snack Time, No Bake Energy Bites

Leave a Reply

