Gluten Free for the Littlest. Elimination Diet Begins and a Few Recipes to Share

Our Princess P has been having an allergic reaction to food (or foods) for a few months now and just when I felt confident the blood test would prove that some sort of wheat or corn product would be the offender and this mystery game would be over, I had to start back at zero.  PORK! Pork of all things came back as an allergen.

When I posted it on FB I had one commenter that made me chuckle.  Here’s what she said:

Best.Allergy.Ever

Yes, I thought it’d be an easy one to tackle.  Then soup and pasta salads seemed to be everywhere- all with bacon.  Then pizza (with pepperoni) showed up.  Oh, and let’s not forget about the hotdogs that seem to be an American staple.  Well, since many of  these dishes are on the lower end of health I figured it really was the best kind of allergy to have.  The problem we face-still- is that she’s reacting to something else.

I go back to my grain, flour, baked good theory.

I food challenge.  And my conclusion is…Sesame.  It must be sesame.

Wrong.  I gave her a nutrigrain bar and BAM. POW- it looked like someone punched her in both eyes 10 minutes post ingestion.  What could it be?  Now use your imagination oh reader of mine…. imagine the cloud bubble that pops over an illustration when they’re thinking… mine said…

GLUTEN!  No!!

I’m not a carb junkie and my kids aren’t really either so it shouldn’t be so scary, right? But to a glutenized girl, it seems daunting.  So I researched a bit about gluten  and after some chatting with some of my friends I realized it’d be okay… especially for a little lady like Princess P.

1. Fruits, veggies, meats, sans pork (we are carnivores) would be great

2.  rice and corn are our newest friends

3.  potatoes are a great starch

4.  oatmeal is GF (but you have to make sure it’s not processed on the same machines as wheat, rye, barely)

And the biggest thing I heard was to stay away from gluten free flours at this point.  They are expensive and usually require a combination of flours to get the best flavor/product.  Since I don’t see a need to make her anything with flour immediately, I thought this was pretty sound advice.

BUT- My big ladies decided they wanted pancakes for dinner! Ok, let me take back those last few sentences.  I need flour to make pancakes!

Here’s what I came up with- no flour, no grains, GREAT taste!

Sweet Potato Pancakes (for 1) –pictured on the griddle, still cooking 🙂

1 med sweet potato, peeled and steamed until fork tender (cut it into small pieces so it cooks quickly)
– 2 large eggs
– 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
– decent dash of ground cinnamon or pumpkin spices
– pinch of salt

**milk as necessary to achieve batter consistency ( I used about 1/4 c)

Puree ingredients (I used my blender) then pour small sized pancakes on prepared griddle.

Another GF goodie I stumbled upon was homemade Granola (but she didn’t actually eat this–I did!).  Ohh, so good and easy to make with the kid-chef’s-in-training! I adapted a recipe from a Disney site (strange huh) and here’s my version:

Granola

  

Ingredients
6 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
1 1/2 cups coarsely chopped nuts (I had almonds and pecans on hand)
1 /2 cups shredded coconut
1/4 cup  whole flax seeds
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon kosher salt
3/4 stick butter (mine is salted)
1/3 cup mild-tasting honey
1 teaspoon vanilla

Fruit (optional- but I love fruit in my granola)

1/4 cup craisins

1/4 cup currants

Directions

  1. Heat the oven to 300ºF.
  2. Mix all the dry ingredients together in a  large bowl then melt the butter and honey together in a small saucepan, add the vanilla, and stir it into the dry ingredients, mixing with a wooden spoon
  3. Spread the granola evenly on two very large rimmed baking sheets  and bake for 15 minutes.
  4. Stir the granola around — the edges may have started to brown a bit but you don’t want it to burn, so stir, stir, stir
  5. Put the pans back in the oven (switching their positions), and bake another 8 minutes, then stir them around and return them to the oven.
  6. After another 8 minutes,  it should be fairly golden and toasted-looking
  7. Allow the finished granola to cool completely before storing in a large, lidded, airtight container.

Two days down and she’s been reaction free so far.  I think we might have found our culprit.  I suppose our well visit to the dr. in November will include more food-focused conversation!

Hoping for more food fun and less food reactions,

Lori

One thought on “Gluten Free for the Littlest. Elimination Diet Begins and a Few Recipes to Share

  1. Hi Lori – how is your gluten-free adventure going? I’ve been gluten free for several years now but it took me 15 years and I had to self-diagnose the problem. Typical US testing is for Celiac disease (small intestine biopsy and blood test for gluten antibodies) and not the early-stage gluten sensitivity (which is tested for in Europe and limited US labs via a stool sample – a somewhat expensive proposition).

Leave a Reply

