Favorite Things #1: Beaba BabyPote + Christmas + New Mom Gift

This is a repost but since Christmas is coming up I thought I’d plug a “Lori’s Favorite Things” item.  The Beaba Babypote.  Seriously, it’s changed how I feed my littles.  So super easy and once my youngest hit 12 months she had the necessary motor skills to be able to squeeze this reusable pouch.  If you make your own baby food or buy jars of it (it even works with yogurt) you simply pour the food into the babypote and let the child suck the nutrition down.  Read on about how I discovered this gem.

My toddler can’t stand food based on pure sight.  It’s like “hate at first sight”. I can’t figure it out!!! But while I was preparing snacks for our  long car trip to the OBX I discovered that he just can’t actually be privy to seeing the veggie and then it’s “LOVE at first taste”.

SCORE 1 POINT FOR BABY FOOD MAKERS

I bought those fruit/veggie pureed pouch things for the long car ride to OBX, hoping they’d be simple and healthy…and crumb free!  There are loads on the market now. Some are blends of 3 foods (usually one fruit and two veggies) but the main ingredient tends to be largely the  fruit.  Which is great for some families, but the issue I have is my son doesn’t care for veggies- so let’s go heavy on the veggies shall we.

The problem, I suppose, is that the greens aren’t as sweet and the sweetness is what masks the “yucky” (as he calls it).

SCORE 1 POINT FOR VEGGIES

Anyway, I digress…. HE LOVED THEM!  Sucked them down right in his car seat with no muss, no fuss.

SCORE 1 POINT FOR BABY FOOD MAKERS

(THE PROBLEM-PRESSURE ON MY WALLET)

They’re expensive.  If he eats one a day and they’re at least $1.00 a pouch (on sale) then I’m going to have to find a way to increase our food budget or re budget it all together.

SCORE 1 POINT FOR VEGGIES

The Beaba Babypote.  It’s made from soft silicone and completely dishwasher safe.  Oh- and the best part is that it’s REUSABLE (in case you didn’t get that from the dishwasher safe comment).  I bought it at Target.com for $14.99 and decided to make my own recipes.  Here are some combinations I like (listed with the main ingredient first and the least ingredient last):

1.  peas, spinach, apples

2. kale, apples, ginger

3.  spinach, peas, pears

4.  sweet potato, apples

5.  broccoli, peas, pear

I love using peas because they are sweet and mask a bit of the broccoli or spinach flavors.  Apples and pears are also very sweet and you don’t need much to help cover the heavily veggie tasting veggies.  I boil everything until it’s good enough to puree in my food processor.  I process one ingredient at a time and then mix according to my desire.  I’d suggest giving the kids a taste test before going to town on a particular combination.

BONUS POINTS FOR VEGGIES -WE’VE WON!

1.  It’s so much cheaper!

2.  I can now give almost total veggies to him and he loves it.  In other words, if I’ve run out of apples, no worries… he’ll take the peas and spinach combo.
How do you serve veggies to your (picky) kids?

Lori signature

2 thoughts on “Favorite Things #1: Beaba BabyPote + Christmas + New Mom Gift

Leave a Reply

