Girls Night Out &Desperate, by Sarah Mae and Sally Clarkson (a book Divinely suggested by a friend)

Last night I went out for coffee with a sweet friend of mine.  We’ve been sharing life, love, and loss for about 8+ years now.  We’ve seen shared friendships come and go, miscarriages, infertility, adoption; we’ve seen our young friends die of cancer and other friends lose children.  We’ve maintained a friendship all through the years and, maybe because of all that life has brought us, have ebbed and flowed with various levels of closeness.

We’ve been working on being closer these past several months.

Last night she chose to hear me.  Yup- she read yesterday’s blog post!  And we went for coffee.  I didn’t wipe a nose, or change a diaper, I didn’t teach anyone anything, or reprimand anyone for wrong choices.

We talked.  It was so, so good.

She mentioned a book she had recently begun.  Desperate by Sarah Mae and Sally Clarkson.  The authors have a Titus 2 relationship and it seems like a dream [to me]. After my sweet friend described the impact the book was having on her, I purchased the book (we just so happened to be in Barnes and Noble- convenient).

desperate

The premise behind the book is a simple one: Hope for the Mom who needs to breathe.  I read 1.5 pages into the introduction and my eyes started to well up and a lump began to form.  These are some of the phrases that got to me:

“Down to the bone, to the deepest part of my soul, is the love I have for my children.  Every day of my life is imperfectly offered to them.  But the little years, they’re hard and often times lonely.  It’s like a secret we fear sharing, just how life-altering motherhood is, …”

“We moms don’t need an instruction manual.  We need physical help.”

“Your days morph into your nights and mornings come too quickly.  You’re bone-tired and would give anything for a break, a soul-filing , relaxing, quiet break.”

“Experiencing hope in Jesus felt like chasing gold at the end of a rainbow….getting to it was always out of reach.”

And the introduction spoke on…offering hope and encouragement with ideas, fresh perspectives, and wisdom.

I’m really looking forward to reading on in the book.  It’s not one of despair or depression.  It’s also not one to be a manual or feed  me formulas on how to be the Proverbs 31 woman.  And since I’m not looking for manuals of dreaming of attaining the impossible I have a feeling this book is going to be just what the soul  requires right about now.

(my friend has her own blog about open adoption @Bumber’s Bumblings )

tapestrips_pinkgingham2.psd

5 thoughts on “Girls Night Out &Desperate, by Sarah Mae and Sally Clarkson (a book Divinely suggested by a friend)

    • Diana, I hope to blog more about it- feelings, thoughts, reactions- kinda a review of sorts with personal implications. And I’d love to hear your thoughts as I go through this book too!

    • Amber, will you be publicizing your blog on FB now that you’re giving FB up for lent? Or will I have to check in at the blog the old fashioned way (aka, my bookmarks)?

Leave a Reply

