{the one where she gave out a tract}

wisdomTeachable moments.  It’s when an ideal environment lends itself to the discussion or learning of a particular topic. In much of my life I’ve thought about teachable moments when adults impart their wisdom to those who are younger   (younger by a few decades).  But this week I was in for a surprise.

Last night, our tweenie-bopper went to the wholesale store and handed out tracts to the deli people.

Personally, I have never handed out a tract.  I don’t know if I have ever considered handing one out either.   I loathe the idea that someone would reject me, reject my attempt at sharing, reject my vulnerable self as I offered them information (information that I know can be seen as offensive,  restrictive, and  exclusive).  It gives me so much joy to see my sweet tweenie girl handing out the joy she has in Jesus to the deli man.  It makes my heart leap because she is untouched by the fear that prevents me from sharing a piece of paper.

It makes my heart ache that I have never even considered doing this because it feels so uncomfortable and awkward and potentially…. potentially confrontational.lainee

I love that my girl’s faith brings me to my knees.  It’s a blessing that she teaches me!  That my homeschooling her doesn’t make me the teacher 100% of the time.  We are learning together everyday.  Last night, she blessed me.  She taught me something about fearlessness, joy and unwavering love.

Will I hand out a tract? I’ll be sure to let you know!

How have you been blessed this week?

Leave a Reply

