Teaching Conversation Skills

I’m currently researching how to teach (my oldest) the art of conversation.  She’s been given the gift of gab. And although I know we can use her ‘power’ for good, it sometimes makes me want to find some ear plugs (don’t hate me because I said it, I know many of you have the gift of “tuning out”).

CONVERSATION LESSONS

I’ve come across a great little blog that gives a map for the students to follow. Since I have two students, it seems like I’ve got just the right number to start small and focused.  Here’s the map (created by Jill Kuzma):

via http://jillkuzma.wordpress.com/

HOW WILL I USE IT?

I’m thinking I might use it in my Calendar Notebook (downloadable pages and pages from ouraussiehomeschool)but it’s not likely I will actually implement it at the initial start of the day.  Most likely I will use this page as an “Appendix” in the Notebook and implement during the beginning of Language Arts.

CONVERSATION STARTERS

Just a list I’m brainstorming:

  • How do you know your mama loves you?
  • Why do sisters stick together? (this is one of our family mottos)
  • What do you want to be when you grow up?
  • If you had three wishes, what would they be?
  • Describe your perfect day (including friends, activities, meals).
  • If you could have a super power what would it be?
  • What is your favorite thing about our family?
  • What would you like to change about your bedroom?
  • What is your favorite animal?
  • If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?
  • If you found $20.00, what would you do with it?
  • How do you try to show kindness to others?
  • What is your favorite TV show, movie, book, video game ?
  • What is your favorite food, candy, dessert?
  • What is your favorite vacation spot?

4 thoughts on “Teaching Conversation Skills

  1. Pingback: Teaching Conversation Skills - Gift Guides

Leave a comment